Napalm Death

Napalm Death are a metal band formed in 1981 in West Midlands, England, often credited as pioneers of the grindcore genre. While none of its original members remain in the group, the lineup of vocalist Mark "Barney" Greenway, bassist Shane Embury, guitarist Mitch Harris and drummer Danny Herrera has remained consistent throughout the band's career since the early 1990s.

Their debut album Scum, released in 1987 by Earache Records, has proven very influential in the global metal community. As one of the first albums to be described as 'grindcore', it introduced a new musical style which incorporated elements of hardcore punk and death metal, creating a noise-filled sound that uses heavily distorted, down-tuned guitars, overdrive bass, high-speed tempo, blast beat percussion, vocals consisting of incomprehensible growls or high-pitched shrieks, extremely short songs and social commentary. The band is known for its anti-capitalist, left-wing political views and support for animal liberation.

Napalm Death have released sixteen studio albums and are listed by Nielsen SoundScan as the seventh best-selling death metal band in the U.S. According to the Guinness World Records, their song "You Suffer" is the shortest song ever recorded in the world.

• Scum (1987)
• From Enslavement to Obliteration (1988)
• Harmony Corruption (1990)
• Utopia Banished (1992)
• Fear, Emptiness, Despair (1994)
• Diatribes (1996)
• Inside the Torn Apart (1997)
• Words from the Exit Wound (1998)
• Enemy of the Music Business (2000)
• Order of the Leech (2002)
• The Code Is Red... (2005)
• Smear Campaign (2006)
• Time Waits for No Slave (2009)
• Utilitarian (2012)
• Apex Predator – Easy Meat (2015)

Official website:

Read more on lastfm

Social Links

metallum facebook twitter facebook facebook